Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Germany
Reload this Page >

Construction trades work in Germany?

Construction trades work in Germany?

Old Oct 25th 2018, 4:52 pm
Just Joined

iank is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Construction trades work in Germany?

Hello all.
I am thinking of moving to Germany before Brexit removes the option. I work in Construction (metal trades - steel erecting/fitting/architectural metalwork etc) and have been doing so for 30 years now (46 years old).
I have lived and worked in other countries before (Australia, Sweden, Spain, Netherlands) so there isn't much of an issue with regard to going away to work. I am just interested to see if there is anybody on here involved in the construction trades and any advice from them would be gratefully received.

I am currently studying German in the evenings and have the language CD on in the car etc. Having worked in a few countries with language barriers, I have got over them with enough words because there isn't much need for a lot of dialogue on site. I will have enough to get me by, I hope.

I have an affection for Germany having been born there and then spending Summers seeing my father who lived there (Royal Engineers). I just want to have a go before I lose the chance to move.
I don't really have a lot going on with social and family life and splitting up with long-term partner this year, and friends moving away etc,
Thanks
Ian
Old Oct 26th 2018, 10:29 pm
Just Joined

enigma64 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs up Re: Construction trades work in Germany?

Originally Posted by iank
Hello all.
I am thinking of moving to Germany before Brexit removes the option. I work in Construction (metal trades - steel erecting/fitting/architectural metalwork etc) and have been doing so for 30 years now (46 years old).