Reload this Page >

Perhaps moving to France and clueless

Perhaps moving to France and clueless

Old Apr 19th 2011, 11:29 am
Just Joined

ceecee76 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Perhaps moving to France and clueless

Hi

I am studying French with the Open Uni here in Scotland and have applied for a post with the British Council as a lang assistant in France as part of my year abroad. I don't know which region I will be assigned to if I am successful but will be; Lille, Caen or Rouen.

My worries, should I be successful, are that I am also a lone parent of a nine year old boy. These posts don't pay very much and so am anxious about what childcare is generally available (after school care and the like) and how expensive it is. Also rental properties, how to go about it, cost etc. Is there any help available to me as a european citizen? I will obviously not have access to the tax credits I currently receive, so what sort of work could I do outwith the 12 hour post the I would have. I would ideally like to tutor English as this will not have the same restrictions as bar work etc with my son, but am not sure if this is possible, is there a demand and how much could I charge etc.

I am sorry that this all sounds a little vague, but these are just some of the concerns that I have. I would love to move over for a while if possible, but feel I need to be as informed as possible.

Any help and info appreciated

Thanks
Old Apr 19th 2011, 4:15 pm

Ka Ora! is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Perhaps moving to France and clueless

Originally Posted by ceecee76
Hi

I am studying French with the Open Uni here in Scotland and have applied for a post with the British Council as a lang assistant in France as part of my year abroad. I don't know which region I will be assigned to if I am successful but will be; Lille, Caen or Rouen.