Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > France
Reload this Page >

Decided to make the move! Where do I start?

Decided to make the move! Where do I start?

Old Dec 31st 2011, 8:25 am
Just Joined

shellbellgibbo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Decided to make the move! Where do I start?

Hello all. I am a newbie who needs some advice please?!
My family and I have decided to make the move to France in the next couple of years and I have a million and 1 questions!!
My main concern is my 2 children aged 5 and 2, what do we do about schooling? Do they need to be fluent in French before they can start? Do the French have pre-schools for my youngest?
The next issue is what we will do for work. My husband is a mechanic/recovery driver atm so I would assume he can use those skills in France. From what we have seen, the French villages tend to have 1 small garage and everyone uses that. Is that right? Is there much call for the recovery business?

Any advice would be very helpful, no matter how small!!

Shellbell.
Old Dec 31st 2011, 8:36 am
cjm
BE Forum Addict

cjm has a reputation beyond reputecjm has a reputation beyond reputecjm has a reputation beyond reputecjm has a reputation beyond reputecjm has a reputation beyond reputecjm has a reputation beyond reputecjm has a reputation beyond reputecjm has a reputation beyond reputecjm has a reputation beyond reputecjm has a reputation beyond reputecjm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Decided to make the move! Where do I start?

Hi Shellbell, welcome to the Forum, others will also welcome you and there is plenty of advice available here. Don't have small children, so for that aspect not able to help, but others will know.
Have you decided on an area as yet? Why the move to France?
I can only advise to research, research and again research. France is not the UK in many ways. The three areas I guess will be education, employment and health. There is lots on line and on this site.