Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Working as an electrician on a non permanent visa?

Working as an electrician on a non permanent visa?

Old Jun 11th 2011, 9:44 pm
Just Joined

L e e is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Working as an electrician on a non permanent visa?

Hi me and my wife will be moving to Either Perth or Brisbane for a year or two at least in order to decide if we want to live there permanently. She is a teacher and is likely to find a good job through one of her current school's sister schools over there.

I'm qualified as an electrician here (Standard NVQ Level 3 apprenticeship for 4 years, AM2, City and Guilds 2391 Inspection and Testing, and various other health and safety and confined space training courses through work). I started the apprenticeship in 2005 so will have 7 years experience next year.

I'd like to work an an electrician while i'm there, but am wondering if it's possible to gain a Western Australia Electrical Licence or Queensland Electrical Worker Licence while not on a permanent visa? We'd be likely to get one year working visas and extend them for the second year. We'll be 29 years old by the time we go over there.

If i can't gain the full licence yet, then is it possible to work as an improver or electrician's labourer on my existing quaifications? i'd ideally like to work as a fully qualified, but will take whatever electrical work i can get as i don't fancy fruit picking or bar work, haha.

If it's possible to work as a qualified sparky on a non permanent visa, then what is the first step to take? VETASSES or ARTC?

I'm a bit confused reading through these forums as there are so many routes in for people in different sitiuations.

Thanks.
Old Jun 12th 2011, 2:16 pm
BE Enthusiast

Location: Was a Londoner in Edinburgh... was a Jockney, now in Brisbane....I'm an ocker cockney