Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Restricted class 's' license - Victoria, Australia

Restricted class 's' license - Victoria, Australia

Old Sep 1st 2006, 8:18 pm
Forum Regular

simpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud of
Default Restricted class 's' license - Victoria, Australia

Hi, Im in the process of getting my visa for OZ and have just done my medicals. I am classed as an electrical engineer in the UK and i work on industrial machinery, to include fault finding and rectifying, plc programming, preventative maintenance etc etc, i do not wire houses/work on domestic installations or the like.
I have been awarded my ARTC to be collected in Australia upon arrival and i have posted on the Australia forums to try to work out what type of license, if any, i need to apply for upon collecting my ARTC. According to workplace.gov.au, they list an 's' class as someone who does the sort of work i do, however they don't say if i need to do any exams to get it.
Is there anyone here that has migrated to OZ doing the sort of work i do? and if so can they shed any light on the matter?

Regards, Simpy
Old Sep 2nd 2006, 6:51 am
BE Enthusiast

john_w has a reputation beyond reputejohn_w has a reputation beyond reputejohn_w has a reputation beyond reputejohn_w has a reputation beyond reputejohn_w has a reputation beyond reputejohn_w has a reputation beyond reputejohn_w has a reputation beyond reputejohn_w has a reputation beyond reputejohn_w has a reputation beyond reputejohn_w has a reputation beyond reputejohn_w has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Restricted class 's' license - Victoria, Australia