Qualification Advice

Old Aug 10th 2011, 12:47 pm
Forum Regular

shaw86 has a reputation beyond reputeshaw86 has a reputation beyond reputeshaw86 has a reputation beyond reputeshaw86 has a reputation beyond reputeshaw86 has a reputation beyond reputeshaw86 has a reputation beyond reputeshaw86 has a reputation beyond reputeshaw86 has a reputation beyond reputeshaw86 has a reputation beyond reputeshaw86 has a reputation beyond reputeshaw86 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Qualification Advice

I am looking at applying to Vatessess to get my skills assessed but i am unsure if this is the correct route. I have the following qualifications as an electrician:
Time Served 4 Year Apprenticeship with JTL
NVQ Lvl 3 Electrical Installation
17th Eddition
2391-10 Testing and Inspection
But after 2 years on site my employer wanted me to go into the office designing and estimating which i have been doing for the last 3 years. I have the following qualifications while doing this:
2391-20 Design and Verification
Level 3 2D AutoCad
HNC Building Services Engineering
So do i apply to Vatessess to be assessed as an electrician or something else?
Many Thanks,
Ian
Old Aug 10th 2011, 10:23 pm
Just Joined

shanethomas123 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Qualification Advice

Hi Ian,

Your qualifactions are very simular to mine as is your experience.

I have worked as an electrcian for 11 years - 2 of which I was self employed, the company was registered with the NICEIC and I was the qualified supervior. I have C&G 2360 parts 1 & 2 and NVQ 2 & 3 in Electrical Installations and 2391 Inspection and testing.

However I have always wanted to be in design and manged to get a job as a trainee electrical design engineer, I have worked for my company for nearly three years and am now an Intermediate Electrical Design Engineer. I now have a HNC in Building Services Engineering and have completed the first year of a three year part time degree course.