Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

electrician wanting to move to florida

electrician wanting to move to florida

Old Sep 12th 2011, 4:22 pm
Just Joined

stueybath is an unknown quantity at this point
Default electrician wanting to move to florida

Looking for some advice on moving to florida, ive been an electrician since i was sixteen so have 12 years experience so far, my partner and i are seriously looking into moving to florida, ive looked alittle bit into applying for a license etc but want some advice from anyone thats actually made the move. should i be buying books etc or contacting companies to learn the differences?? are there any other exams or anything i will have to go through?? any information would be great, not looking to make the move yet but when we do id like to be fully prepared.

probably doesnt make a difference but when we move we'll be mortgage free so for me its not about getting a job for the money side.
Old Sep 12th 2011, 4:46 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: electrician wanting to move to florida

Do you already have a visa, or is one of you a US citizen? That'll need to be your first step, as the US is notoriously tricky to emigrate to.

If in doubt, head over to the US immigration section of the forum and ask the lovely people there who will be happy to point you in the right direction with regards to visas etc. http://britishexpats.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=34