Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Can I work as an Electrician in Oz ?

Can I work as an Electrician in Oz ?

Old Jan 6th 2009, 12:39 pm
Just Joined

mike_oz is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Can I work as an Electrician in Oz ?

Hi

I am 36 years old and British I am currently re-training to be an electrician in the UK.
Once the course is finished I will have gained the following qualifications:

1. CITB Certified
2. 17th edition - City & Guilds 2382
3. Appliance Testing - City & Guilds 2377
4. CSCS Site safety
5. EAL Domestic Installer
6. Part P

I have been on the course for 6 months and hope to finish in about 2+ years.
I am also about to work part time with an Electrician to gain experience.

I have an Australian wife (married 6 years) and we want to move to back to Australia in about 3 to 5 years time. Once my course is finished etc.

I do not need a skilled visa as I can easily get a spouse visa, but after looking online at ex pat chat rooms I am starting to think I may have made a bad decision re-training as a sparky.

Can somebody please tell me if I am going to be able to work in Oz as a sparky.

I have heard you need to have 7 years experience and even then you have to re-train, and there may also be an age problem etc.

I would really appreciate it if somebody could give me the exact requirements I need to work in Oz as a sparky or if it is even possible given my set of circumstances.
Old Jan 6th 2009, 12:56 pm
Swollen Member

Dougie has much to be proud ofDougie has much to be proud ofDougie has much to be proud ofDougie has much to be proud ofDougie has much to be proud ofDougie has much to be proud ofDougie has much to be proud ofDougie has much to be proud ofDougie has much to be proud ofDougie has much to be proud ofDougie has much to be proud of
Default Re: Can I work as an Electrician in Oz ?

Hi Mike,