UK Passport Question

Old May 7th 2012, 9:23 am
Just Joined

gbclowes is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Passport Question

Hello All,

Here is my story. I was born in the US in 1964 to a British citizen father and an American mother. I am now trying to obtain a UK passport for reasons too complex for this discussion. I have father's birth certificate, mother's birth certificate, my birth certificate and all other requirements except for parents marriage certificate. Both parents and all other family members are now deceased and I have no knowledge of where or when they were married. I do have their divorce record.

I am considering filing a Form NS and if approved then the passport application.

Does anyone have any thoughts on where the UK will accept papers without marriage certificate?

Geoff
Old May 7th 2012, 10:22 am
Just Joined

vcf49 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: UK Passport Question

Theoretically, if you have their birth certificates and your own, that should be sufficient but if what you have read somewhere on the passport application site suggests that you need a copy of their marriage certificate (i.e. if your mother changed her name to that which appears on your birth certificate) via this link: http://www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/certificates/ and provide them with as much information as you can.
Old May 7th 2012, 8:35 pm
Just Joined

Thanks vcf. T
My parents were married in the US but I have no idea where or when. I suppose I will fill out Form NS and hope for the best.

Geoff
Old May 7th 2012, 9:26 pm
BE Enthusiast

Jscl has a reputation beyond reputeJscl has a reputation beyond reputeJscl has a reputation beyond reputeJscl has a reputation beyond reputeJscl has a reputation beyond reputeJscl has a reputation beyond reputeJscl has a reputation beyond reputeJscl has a reputation beyond reputeJscl has a reputation beyond reputeJscl has a reputation beyond reputeJscl has a reputation beyond repute