UK passport question

Old Apr 19th 2006, 4:32 pm
Forum Regular

lily74 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK passport question

I am a British teacher who is curently working in Atlanta on a J-1 visa. I got married 2 weeks ago to an American citizen.
I just sent all my forms, yesterday...I130, I465, I765 etc so have not heard anything yet.
My question is, now that I am married and need to change my name on my passport, what will happen with my J-1 visa, will it be cancelled, will they put it in my new passport, do I even need it anymore? And, if I send my passport and Marriage certificate to the Embassy in Washington DC, will I get the marriage certificate back?

Thanks in advance, the other posts on here have been very helpful.
Old Apr 19th 2006, 4:36 pm
Bob
BE Site Lead

Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK passport question

Originally Posted by lily74
I am a British teacher who is curently working in Atlanta on a J-1 visa. I got married 2 weeks ago to an American citizen.
I just sent all my forms, yesterday...I130, I465, I765 etc so have not heard anything yet.
My question is, now that I am married and need to change my name on my passport, what will happen with my J-1 visa, will it be cancelled, will they put it in my new passport, do I even need it anymore? And, if I send my passport and Marriage certificate to the Embassy in Washington DC, will I get the marriage certificate back?

Thanks in advance, the other posts on here have been very helpful.
You don't actually have to change the name in your passport just because you got married, certainly if you have years left as it's a waste of money...