UK De Facto Visa advice

Old Dec 7th 2015, 2:57 am
Forum Regular

AOGT is an unknown quantity at this point
Question UK De Facto Visa advice

Hello everyone,

I'm currently in NZ on a working holiday visa with my Canadian partner. I am a permanent resident of the UK and we're both over 21. We are considering applying for her to get a UK De Facto visa and are getting our heads around the application process.

We are NOT considering applying for a UK working holiday visa because we're currently in NZ and we ideally want to have a second year here (she will be too old to apply for a UK WH visa at the end of 2 years here).

So, we would have to show 2 years worth of documentary evidence proving that we have been cohabiting. Issues are these:

1. By the time we arrive we will have been together for 3.5 years (1.5 years non-cohabiting in Canada, 1 year travelling around NZ and 1 year living in a house together in NZ). Any idea whether these latter two years would be acceptable? We can evidence that we have been together (e.g. joint car ownership, joint plane tickets, joint bank account).

2. Any idea how long this process would take? I can't find anything for this online.

3. Has anyone on here been through this before? Any suggestions or useful advice?

4. I am somewhat confused by info I've found on the same visa application pages saying that "to sponsor a partner to come and live with you in the UK, you will need an income of at least £18,600." My professional job in the UK pays me over this amount, and I will be returning to it once I get back. Would I need to be in the UK - and back in the job - before my partner can apply? Or can she evidence that she has this money herself via her savings?

Thank you for any and all responses.
Old Dec 7th 2015, 3:16 am