Obtaining Citizenship based on English Parents

Old Jan 7th 2009, 7:22 pm
Just Joined

TheodoricN is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Obtaining Citizenship based on English Parents

Both my parent were British Subjects. I am not sure if they were nationalized, but I presume they were. They were both born in Poland. My grandfather fought for the English. After the war my father came over with him. Same story with my mom. Both carried British Passport. Both moved to Canada where I was born in 1979, but neither ever became Canadian. Proud Brits.

I've met a girl who lives in England and I'm hope to move to Bournemouth in September. Can I obtain citizenship so as to work based on my decent? I graduated from Law School in Canada and I can't even wade my way through thr website. Help is much appreciated!
Old Jan 7th 2009, 11:26 pm
JAJ
Retired

JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Obtaining Citizenship based on English Parents

You must mean that they were Citizens of the United Kingdom and Colonies.

If they were naturalised, have you got any evidence of that? Passports? Home Office certificates of naturalisation?
Old Jan 8th 2009, 1:19 am
Just Joined

In 1969 my mother was registered as a Citizen of the United Kingdom and Colonies according to the British Nationality Act 1948, Section 6(2). On that document it states my father was a citizen by virtue of Naturalisation. I have the registration document for my mother and old passports for both. I could probably find stuff for my father, but I'd have to do some more poking around the house...

I'm hoping this is good?
Old Jan 8th 2009, 1:40 am
JAJ
Retired