Looking for new life

Old Aug 1st 2012, 3:55 am
Just Joined

Looking4_a_new_life is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Looking for new life

Please excuse my lack of protocol but I am a newbie here and have quite the situation for you guys. I'm gonna be very honest about my situation and know that some people may be critical. Please be nice!

My situation:
Born - April 15th 1980
Birthplace - Kingslynn, England County of Norfolk
Mom is english by birth
Dad american USAF stationed in UK

I recently became interested in "Starting a new life" in the UK. I've lived in the US since I was 2 years old. At one time I was in possesion of a certificate of naturalization (At this time lost) for the US. This was done when I was very young. I know my mother has my "British Passport" from when I was a baby. Other than that I do not have any other paperwork concerning my birth in the UK.

Does that mean I have "Right of Abode" unconditionally?

Now my story:
I have been in trouble all my life. Nothing like murder or rape or even violent but I have stolen cars, dealt drugs, burglarized homes and cars. I have been in prison twice. Once when I was 17 for 2 years and again 2 years ago for 1 year. (for a crime I committed in 2008) Since 2008 I have stayed out of trouble. I have left that life and started a family. I'm pleased to say I have not been arrested since 2008. The aftermath i bad. I've lost my drivers license indefinitely. I am not considered for most well paying jobs because of my background. I feel like I'll never have a happy life. I truly have changed my life and want to start over.

My questions:
I want to know if I am or have a right to british citizenship? Also what would I have to do so that I could move there! Would this history follow me there? Since I am a naturalized american citizen and it appears that I have a birth right to being a British citizen can I renounce my american citizenship (time of war) and then be deported to england or what would happen to me?