Family and Spouse forms

Old Oct 18th 2019, 6:44 pm
Forum Regular

freerskier has a reputation beyond reputefreerskier has a reputation beyond reputefreerskier has a reputation beyond reputefreerskier has a reputation beyond reputefreerskier has a reputation beyond reputefreerskier has a reputation beyond reputefreerskier has a reputation beyond reputefreerskier has a reputation beyond reputefreerskier has a reputation beyond reputefreerskier has a reputation beyond reputefreerskier has a reputation beyond repute
Default Family and Spouse forms

Thanks for all the advice in my other posts. This forum really is a gem. Heres a specific bureaucratic question or 2...

I’m currently a legal permanent resident in the USA, my partner and her child from a different relationship are US citizens, born and bred.

Firstly I have enough savings to meet the requirement to go to the U.K. on that alone so I presume we could all leave together - I.e. apply from the USA and travel together to the U.K. (Scotland). That’s the assumption out the way - now the questions...

1) the visa applications are done online via a sequence of forms on .gov.uk. Is there a downloaded set of these anywhere as it’s difficult to see what they are going to ask for overall. In other words, to see the big picture of the application rather than just a sequence of screens. Or is there a guide somewhere going over all the application questions etc. Apologies - Admittedly a bit of an ask.

2) did anyone use immigration lawyers to make the leap back to Blighty?

3) As the returning U.K. citizen are there any forms I must fill in for myself to declare that I’m returning and secondly to say I’m leaving the USA? I’m aware of all the IRS tax and filing requirements by the way.

4) .gov.uk states you’ve got t show proof of the relationship lasting 2 years. Due to some complicated life situations we may not be able to demonstrate that. Anybody with any advice or experience in this area and how you approached it.