Questions about Shanghai

Old Apr 11th 2009, 4:52 pm
Forum Regular

Aussieoverseas has a brilliant futureAussieoverseas has a brilliant futureAussieoverseas has a brilliant futureAussieoverseas has a brilliant futureAussieoverseas has a brilliant futureAussieoverseas has a brilliant future
Default Questions about Shanghai

Hello - I am new to this Far East forum.

I am currently living in the Middle East and looking at (maybe) a move to Shanghai. My husband has had an interview - promising but not yet offered. If offered there are still options in the ME so we just have a few questions to ask about Shanghai should the offer be made and we consider a move.

Firstly - I would also be seeking work at Director/Manager level in HR, Training and Development, Vocational Education, Community Development, Government, Social Services. Are there prospects for expats to be employed in these areas in Shanghai after arrival?

And - my husband noticed that the pollution in Shanghai was pretty obvious on the weekend he was there for the interview. What is the source of the pollution and is it a known cause of allergic reaction/sinusitis/etc. I have really struggled living in the desert and hope to move to a more sinus friendly environment!

Lastly - is there a regular meeting of expat women/ networking within the expat community etc. This has been a great feature of our expat life in Al Ain and has provided us with excellent friendships and much needed support when times have been tough. We have also been able to hold others up when they have needed it. It is nice to be 'linked in' to like minded people - even though my primary purpose is to envelope myself in the local culture and society.

Looking forward to some informative posts from Shanghai
Old Apr 12th 2009, 11:36 pm
BE Enthusiast