Reload this Page >

Observations so far.........

Observations so far.........

Old Jan 8th 2012, 5:34 am
Just Joined

whosgarethparry is on a distinguished road
Default Observations so far.........

Hello all,
This forum was of great use in the process of spousal immigration (me being the spouse, partner being the Canadian), so I thought I'd post on the site to give something back if you will. Hope it's of some use. If not, er....., sorry.....

Been in T.O (splat bang downtown) for 4 months now. I'm a musician by profession, all my life. In fact I've done this for so long I truly have no employable skills other that being able to play guitar. I'm aware my story may be slightly different to most and not of much practical use, but what the hell....

The way to get work in my game is by going to gigs, jam sessions and anything you can find and meeting others in the game, which translates to spending huge amounts of time in bars and clubs drinking beer and talking to people.
We saved a load of cash before we moved and my better half was fully aware of the fact it would/will take a while to get established, so far so good, started working etc....

Anyways, immigration? Greatest thing I've done on a personal level since I realized wrestling was fake when I was 8. I can't over-state what a positive process it's been so far . Yes it's a stress, yes you have a bad day or 2, but you learn so much about yourself by doing it, and what an adventure to say the least.....

You get out what you put in...
So many posts seem to obsess about what is different or not as good, but surely the whole point is the difference??? If you put the energy into meeting people and hanging out, immersing yourself in the surroundings, it does pay dividends, quicker than you think. Downtown T.O is a welcoming place-if you put yourself out there. If you're shy, reserved or snobby, tbh, people won't be interested in getting to know you.

The inevitable British moan......