5 Years in NB

Old Apr 29th 2015, 8:33 pm
Account Closed

scrubbedexpat133 scrubbedexpat133 scrubbedexpat133 scrubbedexpat133 scrubbedexpat133 scrubbedexpat133 scrubbedexpat133 scrubbedexpat133 scrubbedexpat133 scrubbedexpat133 scrubbedexpat133
Default 5 Years in NB

I have been here now for 5 years. I arrived on 25th April 2010 with 2 bags of clothes and $5000. I landed at Halifax, within an hour I had my work permit in hand and was in the hire car heading for NB. I was starving as the CBSA officer made me put my sandwiches in the bin! Bloody Jobsworth!!

Some lows:

My fiancee telling me after 2 weeks of being here that she hated it and never wanted to move here. After 1 year we parted ways and she went back to England.

Taking 4 years to get PR.

I am a long haul trucker, I had been here for 3 years and was in a relationship with a girl. I came home to find that she had moved out and taken everything with her including the light bulbs and shower cutain!!!

The winter weather is hard to cope with - not so much the cold but the volume of snow that we get here.

Moncton and NB are basically a bit backward and behind the rest of Canada/the civilized world. They are also both a bit dull.

The people here - a lot of thick small minded peasanty types. Also a lot of them are dull and I cant be bothered with pointless conversation.

Sense of Humor - a lot of it seems to go clean over there head. I miss the quick wit and banter from home.

A few Highs:

I own a fantastic house now that would have been way above and beyond what I could ever have had in the UK.

I live a better overall life here - better clothes, better car, able to eat and go out more.

I got to see the whole continent and see scenery and visit places that I thought that I never would.

Much less stressed than in the UK, the pace of life here is so much more relaxed.