Reload this Page >

Working as a childminder in canada

Working as a childminder in canada

Old Nov 17th 2013, 11:20 am
Just Joined

Liv Lord is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Working as a childminder in canada

Hello,
My husband and I, along with our 5 month old, are in the process of applying for visas to live and work in Canada. My husband is an automotive engineer and I am a primary school teacher. As it is so difficult to find work as a primary school teacher in Canada, I also have a certificate in childcare. I was wondering if anybody could help me in finding out about job prospects in childcare (minding other children in my home, or at a day care centre), what I would need to do to get my qualifications recognised and what do people normally charge per hour for childminding?
Thanks very much for your time and any information would be much appreciated.
Liv
Old Nov 17th 2013, 12:17 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Working as a childminder in canada

Hi, and welcome to BE.

As with everything in Canada, it's very much province dependent. Where will you be moving to, and on what visa?
Old Nov 17th 2013, 5:09 pm
Just Joined

My husband would have the temporary work visa and myself and my daughter will accompany him. We would be in BC.
Old Nov 17th 2013, 5:45 pm
Professional Cat herder