Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Where do we start?!? Please help!

Where do we start?!? Please help!

Old Jun 3rd 2013, 7:25 pm
Just Joined

TheShepherds is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Where do we start?!? Please help!

Hello,

My wife and I are hoping to move to Alberta and live in Calgary. There's so much information on the internet we don't really know where to start!

I'm a coded welder with 16 years experience and I know there's plenty of work in Alberta for me, either in Edmonton or Calgary. My wife is an Artist with a degree in Photography so she would like to work in a gallery as well as for herself.

Where do we start? Do we secure jobs in Canada whilst we're still in England? Is this possible to do? I'm guessing that I should apply using the skilled workers program. We're both in our early 30's and would like to move and settle before starting a family of our own.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! The Shepherds.
Old Jun 3rd 2013, 7:29 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Where do we start?!? Please help!

Hi, and welcome to BE.

Welders aren't on the list of eligible occupations for Skilled Workers, so that options out unless you are over there working on a Temp Work Permit already.

But there are various other visa routes, have a look at the Skilled Trade Program as Welders come under that.

Grab a cuppa, read the Wiki and the CIC website and shout with any questions.

Good luck.