Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Where Do I Start....?

Where Do I Start....?

Old Dec 23rd 2010, 11:14 am
Forum Regular

grioghair is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Where Do I Start....?

I moved to the US in '98 from the UK, and I am now a permanent resident. I am 56, and my wife is concerned about us having no retirement to live on, due to me not getting enough work years in. I still have 11 years to go before I need to worry about this, but I am looking towards maybe emigrating to Canada - as I know they have a better system set up there to look after their senior citizens.

My wife is American and I am British. Is this gonna be a difficult move, or am I gonna have to jump through a lot of hoops to make a move such as this? I need to start somewhere, so I thought I would start with this board.

Thanks in advance,

Steve
Old Dec 23rd 2010, 11:28 am
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Where Do I Start....?

Hi Steve, and welcome to the Canada side of the forum.

You will have to jump through some hoops to get a visa, but depending on various factors, there may be many hoops, or just a few!

Your first step needs to be figuring out what visa (if any) you are eligible for. I'd suggest you start with the CIC website (www.cic.gc.ca) and the Wiki on here (blue bar at top of page) which has loads and loads of useful info.

This article is a good place to start...............http://britishexpats.com/wiki/Quick_...an_Immigration