Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Voltage Converters

Voltage Converters

Old Oct 27th 2016, 3:24 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 163
Muskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond repute
Default Voltage Converters

Hi Everyone

I'm in snowy Muskoka and its glorious. (Two hrs north of Toronto)

Anyway - wonder if someone can advise please. I bought a few UK applicances with me -inc. 1000 watt food processor and am now looking for the best step up/down transformer. Does anyone have experience of these please? and where did they purchase from and are they happy with the performance? As always, thanks in advance.
Muskoka is offline  
Old Oct 27th 2016, 5:47 pm
  #2  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Oakville,Ontario,canada
Posts: 97
lounan is a name known to alllounan is a name known to alllounan is a name known to alllounan is a name known to alllounan is a name known to alllounan is a name known to alllounan is a name known to alllounan is a name known to alllounan is a name known to alllounan is a name known to alllounan is a name known to all
Default Re: Voltage Converters

will pm you
lounan is offline  
Old Oct 27th 2016, 7:58 pm
  #3  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 723
OrangeMango has a reputation beyond reputeOrangeMango has a reputation beyond reputeOrangeMango has a reputation beyond reputeOrangeMango has a reputation beyond reputeOrangeMango has a reputation beyond reputeOrangeMango has a reputation beyond reputeOrangeMango has a reputation beyond reputeOrangeMango has a reputation beyond reputeOrangeMango has a reputation beyond reputeOrangeMango has a reputation beyond reputeOrangeMango has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

Originally Posted by lounan View Post
will pm you
Why not share this info with us all. I am sort of guessing it's not only the voltage, but also ampere which matters.
OrangeMango is offline  
Old Oct 27th 2016, 10:47 pm
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Maple Ridge, Super Natural British Columbia
Posts: 2,062
withabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

You should get one that is at least 50% higher wattage than your appliance (to cover motor startup current, which uses more current than running):

Amazon are cheapest:

https://www.amazon.ca/Goldsource%C2%...onverter+2000w

https://www.amazon.ca/Simran-AC-2000...onverter+2000w

We have a couple of Simran ones in different sizes - one small one to run a 240V-only TV and a larger capacity one for other stuff.

As Canadian voltage is half UK voltage, a 240v appliance will require twice the current from your 110v circuit. That's why kettles and irons here top out at 1500-1800W compared to 3000W in the UK.

Your UK kettle or toaster would trip your breakers...

Last edited by withabix; Oct 27th 2016 at 10:50 pm.
withabix is offline  
Old Oct 28th 2016, 5:28 pm
  #5  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 163
Muskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

Thanks Withabix. That Goldsource should do the job nicely. Only one appliance is 1000 watts, everything else is way less. Thanks again
Muskoka is offline  
Old Oct 28th 2016, 6:48 pm
  #6  
"In cruce vincam"
 
rivingtonpike's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Mill Bay, Vancouver Island
Posts: 3,210
rivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond reputerivingtonpike has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

We used these guys and all the converters we bought have proved very reliable: Voltage Converters - Voltage Transformers and Converter
rivingtonpike is offline  
Old Oct 28th 2016, 7:37 pm
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,274
Davita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

Please check previous thread here titled Step-up/down Transformers.
Many experts there said it's OK to plug a UK appliance into the Canadian 240VAC 3 wire sockets and it works... so a transformer not needed.

I argued otherwise but was shot down.
Davita is offline  
Old Oct 29th 2016, 11:48 am
  #8  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: within the GTA, Canada
Posts: 6,608
not2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

Originally Posted by rivingtonpike View Post
We used these guys and all the converters we bought have proved very reliable: Voltage Converters - Voltage Transformers and Converter


agree, as well as post #4
not2old is offline  
Old Oct 29th 2016, 6:28 pm
  #9  
Proudly Scarberian
 
Pizzawheel's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2014
Location: Scarberia
Posts: 2,180
Pizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

I don't think we were Davita... many people may be doing this but not, it would seem, the experts...

Originally Posted by Davita View Post
Please check previous thread here titled Step-up/down Transformers.
Many experts there said it's OK to plug a UK appliance into the Canadian 240VAC 3 wire sockets and it works... so a transformer not needed.

I argued otherwise but was shot down.
Pizzawheel is offline  
Old Oct 29th 2016, 8:15 pm
  #10  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: within the GTA, Canada
Posts: 6,608
not2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

I am an 'expert' that wired a 220/240 (OZ/NZ) socket in my kitchen back in the 80's from the split socket - consisting of the two 110v live sides & the ground. The neutral wire was insulated & not connected & it remained that way till we sold the house when I removed the 220

The socket accommodated all small AC appliances, hairdryer, blender, mixer, drill, shaver

Folks tell me that being a retired Professional Electrical Engineer (Canada, UK & Australia) as well as prior to retirement a licensed electrician in Ontario (309A & 442A) as well as being licensed in one other trade, that I don't know anything about Electricity... and they're absolutely correct

Having said that, I stick with my earlier post in this thread the OP get a suitable transformer & NEVER EVER muck about trying to wire a 220v socket from a split receptacle
not2old is offline  
Old Oct 29th 2016, 9:14 pm
  #11  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,274
Davita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond reputeDavita has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

Originally Posted by not2old View Post
I am an 'expert' that wired a 220/240 (OZ/NZ) socket in my kitchen back in the 80's from the split socket - consisting of the two 110v live sides & the ground. The neutral wire was insulated & not connected & it remained that way till we sold the house when I removed the 220

The socket accommodated all small AC appliances, hairdryer, blender, mixer, drill, shaver

Folks tell me that being a retired Professional Electrical Engineer (Canada, UK & Australia) as well as prior to retirement a licensed electrician in Ontario (309A & 442A) as well as being licensed in one other trade, that I don't know anything about Electricity... and they're absolutely correct

Having said that, I stick with my earlier post in this thread the OP get a suitable transformer & NEVER EVER muck about trying to wire a 220v socket from a split receptacle
I'm very glad the above has been stated by a licensed electrician as I also advocated that....but other posters disagreed and said changing the UK plug to use the split 240VAC receptacle was OK.
I think that's dangerous.
Davita is offline  
Old Oct 31st 2016, 9:57 am
  #12  
Part Time Poster
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Worcestershire
Posts: 4,219
MikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

Originally Posted by Davita View Post
I'm very glad the above has been stated by a licensed electrician as I also advocated that....but other posters disagreed and said changing the UK plug to use the split 240VAC receptacle was OK.
I think that's dangerous.
We said it was do'abel and it works
we did not tell anybody else to go an do it





and IMHO if your not sure DON'T DO IT




FWIW... I used to build and design my own high power Audio Amplifiers, and I also repaired a few Valve amplifiers and throw in a degree in Physics so I think I might know a bit about electricity and AC theory

Last edited by MikeUK; Oct 31st 2016 at 11:13 am.
MikeUK is offline  
Old Oct 31st 2016, 1:01 pm
  #13  
Proudly Scarberian
 
Pizzawheel's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2014
Location: Scarberia
Posts: 2,180
Pizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond reputePizzawheel has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

Haha that got the desire response!

Key points from Not2Olds post:

1/ He clearly know what he's doing being a previously licensed electrician_ I'll reserve judgement on the CEng/PEng/CEng(Aus) quals lol

2/ He took the receptacle out before selling

Then from Mike the golden rule:
and IMHO if your not sure DON'T DO IT


You may not have followed the sinewave debate with Davita & Co on the long thread but you do need to understand what a voltage actually is rather than seeing as a number you just need to match/ get close to before effing around with this...
Pizzawheel is offline  
Old Jan 10th 2017, 1:57 pm
  #14  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jan 2017
Location: Dubai
Posts: 18
nicolar001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Voltage Converters

LOL Amusing posts.

I am sadly completely ignorant of all things electrical. There are a few electrical items we would like to take over with us (items bought in UAE) i.e TV, Laptops, Playstation.
How would I know if I need a converter or not? Is the 'little black box' on some cables a built in converter?
And for the converters you buy......are they all that BIG??

Thanks in advance
nicolar001 is offline  
Old Jan 10th 2017, 2:29 pm
  #15  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Maple Ridge, Super Natural British Columbia
Posts: 2,062
withabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond reputewithabix has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage Converters

Originally Posted by nicolar001 View Post
LOL Amusing posts.

I am sadly completely ignorant of all things electrical. There are a few electrical items we would like to take over with us (items bought in UAE) i.e TV, Laptops, Playstation.
How would I know if I need a converter or not? Is the 'little black box' on some cables a built in converter?
And for the converters you buy......are they all that BIG??

Thanks in advance
The 'little black box' will say 100-240v on it if it is a universal transformer.

For laptops they almost always are universal.

For Playstations they may not be. Easiest thing with those is to buy a new PlayStation power supply in Canada. Amazon, eBay, Craigslist etc...

Newer TVs are universal voltage. We only had 1 out of 4 that was 240v-only.

The converters vary in size depending on the wattage required. The small ones that look like a plug-in battery charger will only be low power,100 watts or so and aren't usually intended for continuous use.
withabix is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.