Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Used car dealerships don't haggle?!

Used car dealerships don't haggle?!

Old May 31st 2009, 1:39 am
BE Enthusiast

pinzo is a splendid one to beholdpinzo is a splendid one to beholdpinzo is a splendid one to beholdpinzo is a splendid one to beholdpinzo is a splendid one to beholdpinzo is a splendid one to beholdpinzo is a splendid one to beholdpinzo is a splendid one to beholdpinzo is a splendid one to beholdpinzo is a splendid one to beholdpinzo is a splendid one to behold
Default Used car dealerships don't haggle?!

I've been out looking for a car the last few days. I'm not experienced buying from a dealer (I've always bought private in Eng)
I know things work a bit differently here so I'm buying my first car from a dealer.

Found a car at a dealer in Burlington, price tag on the car was $8900. When I asked what the final price would be adding on tax, plates, sticker etc it was about $10,500, which is fine.
I was under the impression there is ALWAYS room for negotiation when buying a car, and everything I've read on the internet says you should haggle the price, which I was looking forward to doing!
When I told them I wasn't going to pay higher than 10k the salesman said they don't negotiate price!! I was a bit stunned!
I ended up walking away as I told him I had 10k in cash and would buy today if he met me at my price, and he wouldn't.

Considering the state of the car industry I was surprised they wouldn't take off $500 in order to make a sale.

Is it normal for a dealership NOT to haggle price anymore???
Your opinions/views are welcome......

Old May 31st 2009, 3:01 am
Magnificently Withering