Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

UK bank account/credit cards etc.

UK bank account/credit cards etc.

Old May 13th 2015, 4:12 pm
BE Forum Addict

Snowy560 has a reputation beyond reputeSnowy560 has a reputation beyond reputeSnowy560 has a reputation beyond reputeSnowy560 has a reputation beyond reputeSnowy560 has a reputation beyond reputeSnowy560 has a reputation beyond reputeSnowy560 has a reputation beyond reputeSnowy560 has a reputation beyond reputeSnowy560 has a reputation beyond reputeSnowy560 has a reputation beyond reputeSnowy560 has a reputation beyond repute
Default UK bank account/credit cards etc.

Hi just hoping for a bit of advice/knowledge ...

We are just going through our house sale in the UK and will have to go through the "change of address" procedure in the next couple of weeks. My major issue is UK bank accounts, credit cards etc.
So First Direct said (verbally) I can keep my UK account even with a non UK address (I assume because I've had it for ages).
Santander: seems like quite a procedure to change to an overseas address
Barclaycard: I have had my card for over 30 years, and they have been very good so far (while I have been in Canada). They have my Canadian address in addition to the UK one. Apparently, it seems I can't keep it if I no longer have a UK address.
I can use a family member's address in the UK, although I'm not even sure Barclaycard will allow me to change to another UK address while they know I'm here. I use it all the time (and my UK bank account).

The rest of my UK linked stuff seems fairly straightforward. Let's hope so !!
Just wondering what people have done in these situations. I'd be grateful to know.

Thanks!
Old May 13th 2015, 5:20 pm
BE Forum Addict