Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Two months to go - getting nervous...

Two months to go - getting nervous...

Old Apr 20th 2008, 11:57 am
Forum Regular

tyrian is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Two months to go - getting nervous...

Hiya,

My move to Waterloo is only about two months away (still waiting for TWP approval to pop through my letterbox), and it's starting to become all too real. I'm getting nervous and am having second thoughts

I'm 33 years old and have no friends or relatives in Canada - so I don't have a support network to fall back on. At the moment I'm stressing about transport, and the logisitics of getting around!

Last minute nerves are to be expected, but has anyone else gone to Canada as a complete newbie, alone and with no friends or family there?

Tyrian
Old Apr 20th 2008, 4:06 pm
Forum Regular

san38 has a spectacular aura aboutsan38 has a spectacular aura aboutsan38 has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Two months to go - getting nervous...

Hi Tyrian,

What part of Canada is that? I am in the same position as yourself, no family or friends, saying that i have made contact with one person when i first visited last year.

Not to worry once you start work you will find your network of friends, for me i am a christian, so i may meet a network of people through that.

What job position is this? You'll be fine.

What date do you leave? I leave in june 08
Old Apr 20th 2008, 5:13 pm
Forum Regular

tyrian is an unknown quantity at this point

Hello san38

Thank you for replying.

Waterloo's in Ontario, not that far from Toronto - where will you be?

I'll be working for a software firm as an application engineer. What will you be doing?

I'm leaving the UK in the middle of June 08 and start work in early July. I'm still waiting for my TWP authorisation to pop through my letterbox (I sent the paperwork off three weeks ago...), and I haven't sorted out an apartment, bank accounts etc.