Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Teaching in Ontario

Teaching in Ontario

Old Aug 13th 2011, 1:25 pm
Just Joined

steens is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Teaching in Ontario

Hi my partner has just recieved a job offer in Toronto and I would like to join him but am concerned about my job prospects in Canada. I am a UK Primary school teacher and have been for four years. I have researched the criteria for visas and conversion of qualifications and understand that it is certainly far from straight forward. I don't want to get out there and discover that I have to re-qualify or get another career. Is there anything I could do before moving that might give me a slight advantage of getting through the system and securing some type of work even if it is supply I would be happy. I just don't want to have to give up my career.
Old Aug 13th 2011, 2:49 pm

lmartin999 has a reputation beyond reputelmartin999 has a reputation beyond reputelmartin999 has a reputation beyond reputelmartin999 has a reputation beyond reputelmartin999 has a reputation beyond reputelmartin999 has a reputation beyond reputelmartin999 has a reputation beyond reputelmartin999 has a reputation beyond reputelmartin999 has a reputation beyond reputelmartin999 has a reputation beyond reputelmartin999 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Teaching in Ontario

Getting accreditation with the OCT (Ontario College of Teachers) is painful and not cheap, but straightforward. Getting a job is virtually impossible. There is a huge surplus and oversupply of teachers in Ontario (in the region of 25,000). There is still some demand for French, but this too is diminishing. Some info from an OCT study (and the situation has not improved):

http://professionallyspeaking.oct.ca...tures/T2T.aspx

Last edited by lmartin999; Aug 13th 2011 at 2:54 pm.
Old Aug 14th 2011, 2:13 pm
Banned