Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Property Title and Financing

Property Title and Financing

Old Sep 2nd 2009, 11:16 am
Forum Regular

brummi is on a distinguished road
Default Property Title and Financing

As a Uk citizen and temp foreign worker I am currently a non permanent resident of Canada. Can my name go on a property title in Alberta when the property is being bought by my Canadian common law partner?
Old Sep 2nd 2009, 1:15 pm
Banned

Auld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Property Title and Financing

UK residents can purchase property in Canada so there should be no reason you cannot be on title.
Old Sep 2nd 2009, 1:36 pm
Forum Regular

I am not buying the property though, the mortgage is solely in my fiance's name. Do the banks take issue with that?
Old Sep 2nd 2009, 1:56 pm
Banned

Auld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond reputeAuld Yin has a reputation beyond repute

Originally Posted by brummi
I am not buying the property though, the mortgage is solely in my fiance's name. Do the banks take issue with that?