Reload this Page >

Permanent resident and absense from Canada

Wikiposts

Permanent resident and absense from Canada

Old Apr 24th 2013, 4:16 am
Just Joined

Transat41 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Permanent resident and absense from Canada

I am a permanent resident of Canada, my current PR card runs from 2010 to 2015. I am currently in the UK, I have been here for 4 months since December 2012, now for various reasons I will be staying here in the UK until probably this time next year.
So my question is this, when I return to Canada will I get quizzed as to why I have been out of the country for about 1 and half years, and will it be a problem?
I am aware of the 2 years in every 5 rule, and by the time my card comes up for renewal in 2015 I will be over the 2 years required to maintain my residency.

Whenever I enter Canada I always seem to have to go into secondary immigration, so I am expecting the same to happen when I go back, so instead of having to go into all the various and personal reasons why I need to be in the UK for so long, could I not just tell them that I wanted to stay in the UK for that amount of time just because I wanted to live back in the old country for a while, and to be with family and friends. I will meet my 2 year residency requirement so is a "very good" excuse necessary?
Old Apr 24th 2013, 4:24 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Former Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Permanent resident and absense from Canada