Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Paying State Pension in Canada and UK?

Paying State Pension in Canada and UK?

Old Apr 4th 2008, 8:01 pm
Forum Regular

holmes5668 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Paying State Pension in Canada and UK?

I have been paying CPC in Canada for five years (since I got here). I have not paid national insurance in the UK since 1999 (I paid from 1984 to 1999). I am thinking of playing catch up and paying as many years back NI as I can and then start paying it yearly again from now.

Is it ok to pay pension contributions in Canada and UK at the same time? Will I end up with both pensions when I retire? Is it worthwhile doing this?

I don't really have any intention of returning to the UK. I am 40, my wife is Canadian. We'll probably end up living in South East Asia eventually.

Thanks in advance.
Old Apr 4th 2008, 8:09 pm
ModerĪ±tor Emeritus

iaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Paying State Pension in Canada and UK?

There is nothing prohibiting it, but...

Any UK state pension wont be index linked once they start to pay it out if you remain in Canada. As you dont know where you will end up, I think (but dont know) you would be better off putting the money in a more flexible private investment scheme.

Are you maxing out you canadian RRSP contributions at present? That would be the first thing to do I guess.

Last edited by iaink; Apr 4th 2008 at 8:48 pm.
Old Apr 4th 2008, 8:14 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace