Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Ottawa - salary information

Ottawa - salary information

Old Jul 23rd 2009, 7:17 pm
Forum Regular

kancell will become famous soon enoughkancell will become famous soon enough
Default Ottawa - salary information

hey guys, been in canada for just under a week now and loving it! spent 3 nights in Toronto, which had lots to do, but I certainly wouldnt live there! Now we have spent 3 nights in Manotick, Ottawa and are really enjoying it.... apart from the weather! i keep getting told that its going to heat up soon, but the long term weather forecast isnt looking great!

Anyway, im an electrical engineer with a BEng Hons and 10 years of UK experience. I have had 2 interviews so far, with another 5 planned! First one went ok, i really didnt take to the guy but i walked away with a potential job offer of $50k. The second interview went brilliantly and i clicked instantly with the president and vice president. This time i received a firm job offer for $65k with a $10k rise in a year once i had gained canadian experience. This is slightly more than i earn in the UK so happy with that, but i'll see what the other companies say also.

My real issue is that my girlfriend is a primary teacher, and we know its going to be a hard slog for her to get a job. We've been advised she would probably pick up supply work for the first few years until she gained enough canadian experience to get a permanent job. Hopefully girlfriend can contribute a meaningful amount to our finances, but in the meantime would my $65-75k be a reasonable salary to allow us to live a good lifestyle.