Reload this Page >

Nurse moving to Canada

Nurse moving to Canada

Old Jun 24th 2023, 7:11 am
Just Joined

Lou_12 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Nurse moving to Canada

Hey all,

looking for some advice, I’m hoping to move to Canada with my 2 children. I’m a paediatric advance nurse practitioner here in the Uk.
I just don’t know where to start, the information on the web isn’t great or clear.
I know there are immigration lawyers available but are expensive so if I can do the leg work myself I’d rather.
Could someone tell me the easiest way to do it?
Im not overly concerned where we settled provided first language is English.
What would you budget for the whole process?

thanks so much :-)
Old Jun 24th 2023, 8:37 am
Just Joined

AirborneDan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Nurse moving to Canada

Hi Lou, I was originally looking in to moving to Vancouver area. Although barriers have been reduced for IENs to get liscensed there, there still seems to be a lot of hoops to jump through. I’ve since looked at licensure requirements for Alberta. They seem to have gone much further than BC in simplifying the process so I’ve applied there instead. I’m waiting for my ID check to be verified and for proof of NMC registration to be reviewed (they’re not even asking me for educational proof so far as they seem to accept NMC reg as being qualified).
Im aiming to move out there September next year.
It’ll be different for you as I’m Adult trained and did Project 2000. I topped up to BSc since.
If you go on the CARNA website that might be a good place to start.
Old Jun 24th 2023, 10:29 am
SUPER MODERATOR