Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

A new member with a job question

A new member with a job question

Old Jan 13th 2005, 5:59 pm
Forum Regular

Liverpool Lou is an unknown quantity at this point
Default A new member with a job question

Hi everyone - only just discovered this forum after it was recommended by an expat that moved to Canada and used to haunt this sight a few years back.

Anyway, I'm currently doing my research into living in the Calgary region. Have all the forms downloaded and an application for the Calgary Board of Education on my desk. I'm an English teacher and wondered if anybody out there knows what the teaching employment prospects are like there? Think getting a teaching job would take ages?

Hope to be spending a lot of time soaking up your wisdom in the months to come

Thanks in advance folks ~ Lou

Last edited by Liverpool Lou; Jan 13th 2005 at 6:02 pm.
Old Jan 13th 2005, 6:05 pm
Glaswegian

Default Re: A new member with a job question

Originally Posted by Liverpool Lou
Hi everyone - only just discovered this forum after it was recommended by an expat that moved to Canada and used to haunt this sight a few years back.

Anyway, I'm currently doing my research into living in the Calgary region. Have all the forms downloaded and an application for the Calgary Board of Education on my desk. I'm an English teacher and wondered if anybody out there knows what the teaching employment prospects are like there? Think getting a teaching job would take ages?

Hope to be spending a lot of time soaking up your wisdom in the months to come

Thanks in advance folks ~ Lou
Check out what you would need to do to qualify to teach in Calgary. Its not as simple as getting a visa and just applying.

Good luck

Mrs G

Old Jan 13th 2005, 6:07 pm
Forum Regular

Originally Posted by Glaswegian
Check out what you would need to do to qualify to teach in Calgary. Its not as simple as getting a visa and just applying.