Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

A New Careerer in Construction

A New Careerer in Construction

Old Jul 24th 2005, 9:38 am
Moved from Chester UK

IckleHelen is just really niceIckleHelen is just really niceIckleHelen is just really niceIckleHelen is just really niceIckleHelen is just really niceIckleHelen is just really niceIckleHelen is just really niceIckleHelen is just really niceIckleHelen is just really niceIckleHelen is just really nice
Question A New Careerer in Construction

Hi All,

We eventually sent off our application under the skilled worker class at the beginning of July. With the wait times as they currently stand we are looking at 3 years until we are able to move to Calgary.

I work in IT, though I have only one years experience so far. As a lot of IT professionals seem to be having difficulty finding work, I am interested in having a back up. I've been thinking about construction, in particular the areas of carpentry, joinery, painting and decorating.

There are some City and Guilds courses running at a local further education college, which I was considering. Does anyone have any advice for me on whether this is worth doing? I enjoy studying and love learning new skills, so don't mind doing the courses even if at the end it just means I'm better at DIY, and don't actually get a job in the industry. However, the courses are quite expensive, so I'm not sure if it's worth the investment.

Also, in case you hadn't gotten it from my name, I'm a woman (and not a very tall one at that). Do you think this will affect my employment chances much in the construction field?

Thanks for any responses.

Helen
Old Jul 24th 2005, 3:34 pm
Vi