Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Lots of questions from a new member

Lots of questions from a new member

Old Oct 26th 2003, 6:25 pm
Just Joined

balamorygirl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Lots of questions from a new member

Hello everyone, we are just starting to think about canada, Calgary in particular. We are planning to visit next May and then decide whether to apply (we would take the skilled worker route). We have two small children.

Getting a job concerns us already!! I am a secretary, but would not be working for a few years (looking after kids). My husband is a painter and decorator and there doesn't appear to be that many jobs around!!

Also we are a bit worried about driving. I drive but I am a nervous driver. My husband doesnt drive at all (although he did pass his test years ago!!) I have heard that you just have to drive to get around ! Can anyone give us some advice?

We were wondering if we could just live on savings for the first year, to give us a chance to settle in (and look after the children!!).

We would have about £100k after selling our house here, and wondered if we should rent or buy. Any advice?? I like the look of some of the 'forest communities' that seem to be springing up around Calgary, can anyone tell me about them??

I've got loads more questions but I'll stop for now!!!!
Old Oct 26th 2003, 8:01 pm
BE Enthusiast

crazydaisy has a brilliant futurecrazydaisy has a brilliant futurecrazydaisy has a brilliant futurecrazydaisy has a brilliant futurecrazydaisy has a brilliant futurecrazydaisy has a brilliant future

You can check at the HRDC site (Human Resources Development) which lists jobs per area. I clicked on Alberta, then Calgary area and typed in painter and it brought some jobs which would at least give an idea of salaries etc. http://www.jobbank.gc.ca/Prov_en.asp?Student=false