Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Hiring a car in Canada

Hiring a car in Canada

Old Jul 7th 2006, 5:32 am

or4ngecrush is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Hiring a car in Canada

Hello,

Was going to hire a car when I go to NS in October can anyone tell me of any good car hire companies and what types of identification will I need, I know I'll need my card licence but would I need my paper licence too? Does anyone know if car hire is expensive in Canada also? Any help appreciated, I'm not sure if I'll be okay with the driving on the other side of the road but I am a confident driver anyone have any tips? lol

Emma x

Old Jul 7th 2006, 5:37 am
Account Closed

yonk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Hiring a car in Canada

Originally Posted by or4ngecrush
Hello,

Was going to hire a car when I go to NS in October can anyone tell me of any good car hire companies and what types of identification will I need, I know I'll need my card licence but would I need my paper licence too? Does anyone know if car hire is expensive in Canada also? Any help appreciated, I'm not sure if I'll be okay with the driving on the other side of the road but I am a confident driver anyone have any tips? lol

Emma x

It's much easier to drive in Canada. I'm fine as I don't know my lefts from my rights so I adapt easily, but the roads are wider, there is (generally) less traffic and people do seem to be a little less quick to harrass you. If you drive in Edinburgh and have managed to take on board all the recent changes, you'll find Canada a breeze.

Bring all of your licence & a credit card. The firm I hired my car last Oct through went bust, but they were very cheap so not unexpected.

Use a credit card to book major things like this and you are protected if they do go bust.
Old Jul 7th 2006, 5:42 am
Forum Regular