Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Flying to USA - Need ESTA

Wikiposts

Flying to USA - Need ESTA

Thread Tools
 
Old Aug 19th 2009 | 7:07 pm
  #1  
Thread Starter
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 396
brizzle is a splendid one to beholdbrizzle is a splendid one to beholdbrizzle is a splendid one to beholdbrizzle is a splendid one to beholdbrizzle is a splendid one to beholdbrizzle is a splendid one to beholdbrizzle is a splendid one to beholdbrizzle is a splendid one to beholdbrizzle is a splendid one to beholdbrizzle is a splendid one to beholdbrizzle is a splendid one to behold
Default Flying to USA - Need ESTA

Hi,

Just a warning to you all. I've just applied for an ESTA (electronic visa authority for current visa waiver countries i.e. UK to be able to fly into the USA)

The correct website is: https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov/esta/esta.h...0-2CEB52A39D95

There are many scam sites and type a certain combination into google.ca and the sponsored link is a scam site. They ask for your details and credit card no. for an application guide fee !!

USA esta is free. An example of a scam site is this: http://www.esta.us/travel_authorizat...FR0SagodLicloA

Hoep the links work ? Thought I'd pass the info on, as I had to do a double take.
 
Old Aug 19th 2009 | 8:37 pm
  #2  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
outonalimb is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Mr

You make a great point. It's so easy nowadays to fool an unsuspecting user into thinking they should pay money for this service. These 'mock' sites can look convincing. The US Government should of thought of this before creating a URL (web address) that's confusing. Why not use www.esta.gov or something easier to check in the address bar?
 
Old Aug 20th 2009 | 1:51 am
  #3  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,238
From: Colorado Springs
neill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Flying to USA - Need ESTA

Originally Posted by brizzle
Hi,

Just a warning to you all. I've just applied for an ESTA (electronic visa authority for current visa waiver countries i.e. UK to be able to fly into the USA)

The correct website is: https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov/esta/esta.h...0-2CEB52A39D95

There are many scam sites and type a certain combination into google.ca and the sponsored link is a scam site. They ask for your details and credit card no. for an application guide fee !!

USA esta is free. An example of a scam site is this: http://www.esta.us/travel_authorizat...FR0SagodLicloA

Hoep the links work ? Thought I'd pass the info on, as I had to do a double take.
Yes, I saw this yesterday... The trouble with it is when you type 'ESTA' into google you get this fake site near the top, and the site looks more professional (in some ways) than the U.S. government website!
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.