Reload this Page >

First month in London.ontario

First month in London.ontario

Old Jan 11th 2007, 10:01 pm
Just Joined

zannab will become famous soon enoughzannab will become famous soon enough
Default First month in London.ontario

Hello everyone,
Hope you are all well and had a good christmas and new year. Well we arrived in toronto on the 8th of dec and it was a shock to the system to say the least.
We came down to London on the sunday and then moved into are short term acc on the wednesday. We have done well doing all the paperwork stuff especially having 2 small kids in tow!!!
Everyone has been very friendly and helpful and we have been welcomed to canada by almost everyone we have met.
Christmas was quiet as we dont know actually know a soul but the kids had a good time.
Billy my other half starting looking for work after the holidays hes a carpenter by trade and was shocked to be offered $16 an hour. We were expecting more and he has been for another job and if he gets it he will be on $20 an hour. It has totally knocked our confidence and we now feel we have been a little naive , the cost of living seems high and to to have the quality of life we had expected that wage is not enough. I will work too but it appears good quality child care is hard to find and it will cost.
We like London and all it has to offer but we have had a very hard time coming to terms with the compromises we will have to make in respect of the area we will live in and the type of house we can afford.
When I used to read peoples threads and they said they were lonely thinking of going home after a few weeks etc we scoffed at them and said they must be mad. I completely apologise as we have discussed going home everyday for the last two weeks I want to stay its Billy who is unsure and it was he who had to convince me to come in the first place.!!
I miss my family and friends and I have cried badly several times but I know this is the right thing for us and the kids.