Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Engineering - 15 years experience - few qualifications

Engineering - 15 years experience - few qualifications

Old Oct 28th 2014, 6:35 pm
Just Joined

vilguy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Engineering - 15 years experience - few qualifications

Hey there, relatively new to the forum but I have been lurking and learning for a while.

Myself and my wife along with our 3 children have long been talking of moving to Canada for a while and well the opportunity in our lives seems to have presented itself. Now seems right to do it.

My issue is thus,

I have 15 years experience of heavy engineering design experience, but relatively few qualifications, I have an NVQ2 and ONC in Mechanical Engineering, and I intend to finish my HNC's in Civil and Mechanical Engineering before we get over there. But will this be sufficient to find work?

At present I am a senior mechanical design engineer in the nuclear decommisioning industry but have worked for a variety of industries over the years such as defence, waste water, chemical, mining etc. Im going through my Imech application at present based on experience to gain incorporated status.

We are unsure where we would like to live at present (although we do like the remote areas here in Scotland where we live at present and could never go back to living in an urban environment). I am willing to go where work is available in order to "get in" if you know what I mean.

Any advice would be most welcome and I assure you we are grateful for all given

Regards

Paul & Samin
Old Oct 28th 2014, 6:55 pm
Dichotomus tinker