eletricals

Old Aug 22nd 2008, 1:33 am
Forum Regular

bunnett is a jewel in the roughbunnett is a jewel in the roughbunnett is a jewel in the roughbunnett is a jewel in the roughbunnett is a jewel in the rough
Default eletricals

Having to move back to the UK and was now wondering if we can take our TV's and DVD players with us. Anyone got advice?

Sharon
Old Aug 22nd 2008, 2:38 am
Forum Regular

chazcanning has a spectacular aura aboutchazcanning has a spectacular aura aboutchazcanning has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: eletricals

Originally Posted by bunnett
Having to move back to the UK and was now wondering if we can take our TV's and DVD players with us. Anyone got advice?

Sharon
Hi Sharon

I'm an electrician in vancouver The answer is no unless they are dual voltage the voltage here is 120v
60Hz in the uk it's 240v 50Hz check the info on the back of tv/ dvd i know my pc has a switch on the back . hope this helps regards chaz
Old Aug 22nd 2008, 2:50 am
Magnificently Withering

Oakvillian has a reputation beyond reputeOakvillian has a reputation beyond reputeOakvillian has a reputation beyond reputeOakvillian has a reputation beyond reputeOakvillian has a reputation beyond reputeOakvillian has a reputation beyond reputeOakvillian has a reputation beyond reputeOakvillian has a reputation beyond reputeOakvillian has a reputation beyond reputeOakvillian has a reputation beyond reputeOakvillian has a reputation beyond repute

Originally Posted by bunnett

Sharon
That's a different twist on an old topic....

You'll need a step-down voltage converter if the power supplies to your TV and DVD aren't dual-voltage. Unlike driving UK devices in Canada, there shouldn't be an issue with power consumption, as the power drawn by a step-down transformer is about half the rated power consumption of the device at nominal voltage.