Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Canada move- advice please

Canada move- advice please

Old Sep 17th 2013, 5:30 pm
Forum Regular

Amaresh has much to be proud ofAmaresh has much to be proud ofAmaresh has much to be proud ofAmaresh has much to be proud ofAmaresh has much to be proud ofAmaresh has much to be proud ofAmaresh has much to be proud ofAmaresh has much to be proud ofAmaresh has much to be proud ofAmaresh has much to be proud ofAmaresh has much to be proud of
Default Canada move- advice please

Dear group,

Hello.

I and my family (wife, 2 children- 10 and 7 y old boys) are planning to move to Calgary.

We are originally from India. We both are doctors. I am a family physician and my wife is in last few months of her family physician training.

We are British nationals now. We also have Canadian PR. Recently we visited Toronto (to complete the permanent residency process) and enjoyed the visit.

What we like in the UK-

British weather (yes!)- the sound of raindrop on window pane is priceless.

Polite people.

A pint in Pub.

Order in daily life.

Police don’t carry guns.

Why we want to move to Canada-

Brother in LA (probably we’ll move a bit close to him or he might decide to move to Calgary)

Summers are longer

Changes in family medicine practice in the UK and NHS are making it difficult to continue to work.

Better pay or may I say- better buying ability with CAD than with GBP.

?Better quality of life

What worries me re the move

Harsh winter months

?rising cost of living (I did read the pros and cons re Calgary)

Lack of state run pension (like NHS pension which is possibly one of the best in the world) and annual leave etc.

Can anyone help guide or share their own experience, please?
Old Sep 17th 2013, 6:18 pm
Dichotomus tinker