Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Old Nov 10th 2020, 10:14 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 82
eversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond repute
Default Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Hey guys,
After getting a shipping quote, I am looking to include some extra items as they don't seem to make much of a difference in price.
One of them is my electric standing desk - below is the only reference I could find from the leg... would this work in Canada with just an adapter (and no need to buy a converter)?
https://imgur.com/gallery/njqp3CK

p.s. Same thing with my 65" TV. Initially i thought it's gonna cost a lot and no point moving. But they said it hardly adds to the quotation as it's just an extra box for them. It is 240v only, but given its 200w, I found a converter for C$60, and it seems cheaper to just take it with us than selling for a low price.
eversmannx is offline  
Old Nov 10th 2020, 3:46 pm
  #2  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 132
Revin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Originally Posted by eversmannx View Post
Hey guys,
After getting a shipping quote, I am looking to include some extra items as they don't seem to make much of a difference in price.
One of them is my electric standing desk - below is the only reference I could find from the leg... would this work in Canada with just an adapter (and no need to buy a converter)?
https://imgur.com/gallery/njqp3CK

p.s. Same thing with my 65" TV. Initially i thought it's gonna cost a lot and no point moving. But they said it hardly adds to the quotation as it's just an extra box for them. It is 240v only, but given its 200w, I found a converter for C$60, and it seems cheaper to just take it with us than selling for a low price.
If your house has a 3 wire supply you will have 240V available but it will be 60hz not 50. Some on here will know for sure but I think a modern TV would not be bothered by the different frequency.
Revin Kevin is offline  
Old Nov 10th 2020, 3:55 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 82
eversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Thanks for that note. TV says 50Hz - but i am not too worried about the TV.
Any idea on the DC24v label from my rising desk?
eversmannx is offline  
Old Nov 10th 2020, 4:27 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 132
Revin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond reputeRevin Kevin has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Originally Posted by eversmannx View Post
Thanks for that note. TV says 50Hz - but i am not too worried about the TV.
Any idea on the DC24v label from my rising desk?
Sorry the link won't work for me but many adaptors nowadays will accept incoming supplies ranging from 110 - 240v 50/60Hz, if yours doesn't just buy a new one.
Revin Kevin is offline  
Old Nov 10th 2020, 4:35 pm
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 55
dj322 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

This is an interesting topic, just been watching some videos on US and UK voltages (Edison vs Tesla), never really understood the need for converters or adapters. When I brought my Apple laptop from Canada to the UK and used an adapter to plug it into the UK mains, all was working well, but I feel it buggered up the battery as my laptop starting dying a lot quicker after that.
dj322 is offline  
Old Nov 10th 2020, 4:42 pm
  #6  
MODERATOR
 
Siouxie's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 18,232
Siouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Suggest you have a good read of our wiki on the subject of compatability of goods
Check the TV's power rating, if it covers 110 - 230/240 V 50/60 Hz then you will be able to plug them into the mains via a simple travel adapter (if the power cable is removable yoou will be able to buy a North American replacement).
If the device's power input does not cover 110 V then you could buy a step up voltage transformer which converts 110 V to 230 V....ensure the transformer has a higher wattage than the TV.
https://britishexpats.com/wiki/Compa...f_Goods-Canada
TV's are surprisingly cheap in Canada..

For the DC24v-5a - see the google link

Last edited by Siouxie; Nov 10th 2020 at 4:45 pm.
Siouxie is offline  
Old Nov 10th 2020, 5:05 pm
  #7  
Just Joined
 
Budgie1066's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 13
Budgie1066 has a reputation beyond reputeBudgie1066 has a reputation beyond reputeBudgie1066 has a reputation beyond reputeBudgie1066 has a reputation beyond reputeBudgie1066 has a reputation beyond reputeBudgie1066 has a reputation beyond reputeBudgie1066 has a reputation beyond reputeBudgie1066 has a reputation beyond reputeBudgie1066 has a reputation beyond reputeBudgie1066 has a reputation beyond reputeBudgie1066 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

OK, here's the thing. Before I moved to Canada I found out cookers over here are 220v. So it made sense that you could use UK appliances.
I shipped all of my electronic gear I wanted to keep. Record players, amps, projector and so on. I turned my basement into a media room, got an electrician to double up the power to 220v and hey presto it all worked. One piece of advice the electrician gave was to decommission the power if I move.
Budgie1066 is offline  
Old Nov 10th 2020, 8:36 pm
  #8  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 82
eversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Originally Posted by Revin Kevin View Post
Sorry the link won't work for me but many adaptors nowadays will accept incoming supplies ranging from 110 - 240v 50/60Hz, if yours doesn't just buy a new one.
https://imgur.com/a/njqp3CK

hope this link works. it's a bit of a tricky one, because the electric desk has this label on each leg (the motor) and it reads DC24V 5A, but the brick connected to the power code doesn't have any labels i can see - and the top is covered by the table top - so i'd have to complete disassemble to check if there is any. And given it fits into the frame in a precise way, i am not entirely sure if i can buy another... I am guessing the DC24V bit is not very meaningful?
eversmannx is offline  
Old Nov 10th 2020, 8:46 pm
  #9  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 82
eversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Originally Posted by Siouxie View Post
https://britishexpats.com/wiki/Compa...f_Goods-Canada
TV's are surprisingly cheap in Canada..

For the DC24v-5a - see the google link
Cheers. I did read through the wiki before. And overall decided to leave everything behind and buy again. It was only after the quotation call - when they said the 65" TV would hardly make a difference to the quotation, I started wondering if I should just take it rather than selling for next to nothing.

The rising desk on the other hand is a very picky purchase, so if it works there, maybe a good call to move. That seller is no longer selling on Amazon - hence I am having trouble confirming the spec, but i am very pleased with the quality and doubt I'd be able to get one of equal quality.
eversmannx is offline  
Old Nov 10th 2020, 9:12 pm
  #10  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Posts: 375
Bucks_Family has a reputation beyond reputeBucks_Family has a reputation beyond reputeBucks_Family has a reputation beyond reputeBucks_Family has a reputation beyond reputeBucks_Family has a reputation beyond reputeBucks_Family has a reputation beyond reputeBucks_Family has a reputation beyond reputeBucks_Family has a reputation beyond reputeBucks_Family has a reputation beyond reputeBucks_Family has a reputation beyond reputeBucks_Family has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

A quick search for "output 24v dc 5a" on amazon.ca returns a few power adapters that take 110V input and convert it to 24V DC 5Amp output. I would think that would be suitable - the next question is the size of the bit you plug into your desk - I see two different examples on Amazon, one is 5.5mm x 2.1mm and another is 5.5mm x 2.5mm. Here's one example
Amazon Amazon
Bucks_Family is offline  
Old Nov 10th 2020, 9:33 pm
  #11  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 82
eversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Originally Posted by Bucks_Family View Post
A quick search for "output 24v dc 5a" on amazon.ca returns a few power adapters that take 110V input and convert it to 24V DC 5Amp output. I would think that would be suitable - the next question is the size of the bit you plug into your desk - I see two different examples on Amazon, one is 5.5mm x 2.1mm and another is 5.5mm x 2.5mm. Here's one example
https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B07PWZQ4MB/..._biWQFb7DKVR79
Thank you! after looking at these, i am convinced the brick i have should support 110V - if not I can find something. so I am gonna go ahead and ship the desk frame. Cheers
eversmannx is offline  
Old Nov 11th 2020, 12:53 am
  #12  
MODERATOR
 
Siouxie's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 18,232
Siouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Originally Posted by eversmannx View Post
Cheers. I did read through the wiki before. And overall decided to leave everything behind and buy again. It was only after the quotation call - when they said the 65" TV would hardly make a difference to the quotation, I started wondering if I should just take it rather than selling for next to nothing.

The rising desk on the other hand is a very picky purchase, so if it works there, maybe a good call to move. That seller is no longer selling on Amazon - hence I am having trouble confirming the spec, but i am very pleased with the quality and doubt I'd be able to get one of equal quality.
Can you find the frame on here? https://www.alibaba.com/countrysearc...sGalleryList=G
Do you know the brand? This is what I managed to get from the label.. if you have the brand I should be able to track down the manual and specs online
Zhejiang Jiecang
M.D: 5049420161228-0007 standing desk model JS36DR-3-5-650-560
control system JCB35N2-230 https://www.bibusmenos.pl/fileadmin/..._catalouge.pdf

Last edited by Siouxie; Nov 11th 2020 at 1:12 am.
Siouxie is offline  
Old Nov 11th 2020, 10:50 am
  #13  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 82
eversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Originally Posted by Siouxie View Post
Can you find the frame on here? https://www.alibaba.com/countrysearc...sGalleryList=G
Do you know the brand? This is what I managed to get from the label.. if you have the brand I should be able to track down the manual and specs online
Zhejiang Jiecang
M.D: 5049420161228-0007 standing desk model JS36DR-3-5-650-560
control system JCB35N2-230 https://www.bibusmenos.pl/fileadmin/..._catalouge.pdf
Thank you so much! I am super impressed with that investigation :-) --- the product title is as below. and I found the "Jiecang" name in the controller panel. so overall, all things point to it being dual voltage.
"DEVAISE Electric Height Adjustable Standing Desk Frame Only with Memory Controller; General Voltage, All-Steel, Dual motor, 108~180cm Wide, White"
eversmannx is offline  
Old Nov 11th 2020, 5:42 pm
  #14  
MODERATOR
 
Siouxie's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 18,232
Siouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond reputeSiouxie has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Originally Posted by eversmannx View Post
Thank you so much! I am super impressed with that investigation :-) --- the product title is as below. and I found the "Jiecang" name in the controller panel. so overall, all things point to it being dual voltage.
"DEVAISE Electric Height Adjustable Standing Desk Frame Only with Memory Controller; General Voltage, All-Steel, Dual motor, 108~180cm Wide, White"
Welcome!
Devaise don't appear to make an electric one, only hand crank - so I presume they have used the 'name' https://www.devaise.com/collections/desk

I have read in amazon.com that model a can only be used usa. can d model be used in uk (230v/50hz)?
Answer:
Dear,
Yes, it can be used in the UK.
Our electric standing desk have 2 styles:
Style A: Rectangular leg (White, Black and Gray) / Round leg (Black) / Square leg (Black)
Style B: Rectangular leg (White and Black) ; with Spring cables
Except the above difference, the most important difference is:
Style A: Voltage 230V, can be used in the UK; we have changed the motors and the plug of Style A, according to the voltage standard of the sales country;
Style B: General voltage; with Powder adapter, Style B can be used in any countries, but the plug has changed according to the sales country, if you need to use this desk in other countries, only need a conversion plug.
If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask us.
Have a nice day
DEVAISE
NEW LIFE - ORFORD· 14 August 2017
If you need to contact them - here's the seller details
Amazon Amazon
Siouxie is offline  
Old Nov 11th 2020, 7:25 pm
  #15  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 82
eversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond reputeeversmannx has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I use DC24v 5A in Canada with just an adapter?

Originally Posted by Siouxie View Post
Welcome!
Devaise don't appear to make an electric one, only hand crank - so I presume they have used the 'name' https://www.devaise.com/collections/desk



If you need to contact them - here's the seller details https://www.amazon.co.uk/sp?_encodin...A3BEMP9V83CMYH

Thank you, i did see this response before and did also contact them. Because my order is a while back, they can't see it in their system. I think i am 90% certain mine is a type B --- and yes, they just seem to have used the name for the product you pointed to earlier.
eversmannx is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.