Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Are British Law Schools so inferior?

Are British Law Schools so inferior?

Old Jul 19th 2010, 6:33 pm
Just Joined

Chris Firtouns is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Are British Law Schools so inferior?

Hi,

I would like to study law in the UK and start working somewhere in Europe afterward.

I do not intend to come back to Canada. I have an undergraduate degree in political science and am considering between going to the law school here or in the United Kingdom. Given the fact that I would like to settle in Europe or the UK I would rather go to the law school in England.

However I have some apprehension as far as the quality of the legal education and training in the UK is concerned.

It is frequently stated on the following website that due to the fact that it is a first entry level program, the course load and content in typical British law school is lighter ( 4 subjects per year vs 10 subjects per year here ) compared with a typical Canadian law school.

http://lawstudents.ca/forums/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=22350

Could someone please elaborate on this topic? Is British legal education inferior to Canadian one?

Chris.
Old Jul 19th 2010, 6:37 pm
Moderαtor Emeritus

iaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Are British Law Schools so inferior?

Hmm, I suspect the answer is "No", and have some reservations about allowing this thread to be posted, so if everyone could try and be on their best behaviour I wont have to come back and delete it.
Old Jul 19th 2010, 6:56 pm
Account Closed