Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > The Barbie
Reload this Page >

New UK High Speed Rail - HS2

New UK High Speed Rail - HS2

Old Jan 11th 2012, 4:18 am
Proudly Deplorable

Amazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond repute
Default New UK High Speed Rail - HS2

I'm a big fan of rail and I worked in the industry in the UK, but I'm against HS2. GBP16b (make that GBP20b by the time it's finished) for the first phase to Birmingham, GBP35b for the extensions north (make that GBP50b). Now in an ideal world it's a great project, but the UK ain't got any money. Health, education, police, defence are being cut but the UK will borrow money to pay for HS2. Their priorities are all wrong. Infrastructure is a great way to increase productivity and the economy but this is the wrong infratructure. Hospitals and schools are crumbling, roads at capacity, as well as airports. They could do so much with the 35b (that they actually haven't got) - build the new London airport in the Thames Estuary (and get the private sector to help pay for it), light rail in cities, upgrade roads, build hospitals, schools and science parks, fibre optic backbones etc.

Network rail, government owned and who will be responsible are terribly inefficient and over-manned - totally the wrong outfit to finish this project. Give it to DB, or don't do it at all.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/ukne...be-hidden.html
Old Jan 11th 2012, 4:31 am
snɐןɔ ʎʇıuɐs