Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > The Barbie
Reload this Page >

Mechanics - how to shift a stuck strut nut?

Mechanics - how to shift a stuck strut nut?

Old Jul 7th 2021, 6:21 am
BE Enthusiast

Lucas_Dad has a reputation beyond reputeLucas_Dad has a reputation beyond reputeLucas_Dad has a reputation beyond reputeLucas_Dad has a reputation beyond reputeLucas_Dad has a reputation beyond reputeLucas_Dad has a reputation beyond reputeLucas_Dad has a reputation beyond reputeLucas_Dad has a reputation beyond reputeLucas_Dad has a reputation beyond reputeLucas_Dad has a reputation beyond reputeLucas_Dad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Mechanics - how to shift a stuck strut nut?

I'm a noob when it comes to mechanics, but am getting my confidence up. I've done an engine mount, and now have front suspension struts to do. I can get the strut off and compress the spring, but just cannot shift the nut at the top of the strut. The strut just spins underneath. I only have basic hand tools.

I've tried:
- WD40 ... swearing at it ...
- a vise grip alone ... anti-slip mat under the vise grip ... duct tape under the vise grip ...
- all that, plus a pipe wrench ...
- WD40, left overnight, then all the above
- more swearing

'A bloke' outside supercheap auto suggested 'just cut it off!' but I'm very reluctant to do that. At the moment, I can at least put the old strut back on and carry on driving.

Do I need to buy an impact driver? What if the nut still doesn't loosen? I don't have much of a budget. Will this do for occasional use? https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/173408712589

All suggestions welcome.

Cheers 🛠
Old Jul 8th 2021, 2:57 am
A modern day warrior