British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Barbie (https://britishexpats.com/forum/barbie-92/)
-   -   Help With Telling The Parents You're Leaving! (https://britishexpats.com/forum/barbie-92/help-telling-parents-youre-leaving-616189/)

Coppock Jun 22nd 2009 11:21 am

Help With Telling The Parents You're Leaving!

Hi everyone, as some of you probably know I've been dreaming about Oz since I was 18 years old... but wouldn't qualify.

I've been working on getting the visa since then, plus starting a family! I'm now almost 24, and still don't qualify lol. I only have a hnd, if I spend a year studying to upgrade it to a degree I should FINALLY be able to apply next May :D

But i'm feeling ready to tell the parents . . . again!

I told them when I was 18 that I wanted to go to Oz and they hit the roof. I got the whole "you wouldn't take our grandkids away from us" (even though I hadnt even had kids at that point) and "if you live there then we might as well not have a daughter".

It wasn't good!

I have 2 older brothers, both of which are childless at present whereas I have two daughters.

I'm going to have to tell my mum and dad that I'm going to uni to get my degree, and they're going to ask why (I work from myself so don't really need one for work purposes)... so I've had enough of beating around the bush and have decided I'm going to tell them this week... Just can't decide how!

Any ideas/recommendations?

Thanks everyone

Jen

OzWannabee Jun 22nd 2009 11:48 am

Re: Help With Telling The Parents You're Leaving!

Originally Posted by Coppock (Post 7687767)
Hi everyone, as some of you probably know I've been dreaming about Oz since I was 18 years old... but wouldn't qualify.

I've been working on getting the visa since then, plus starting a family! I'm now almost 24, and still don't qualify lol. I only have a hnd, if I spend a year studying to upgrade it to a degree I should FINALLY be able to apply next May :D