Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Where should I live in Sydney??

Where should I live in Sydney??

Old Jul 11th 2012, 8:46 am
Just Joined

Ferrit is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Where should I live in Sydney??

Hey everyone,

I am new to this but hopefully you guys can help me out?

I have been offered a role in Sydney, based fairly centrally, and am waiting for my 457 Visa to be processed for myself, girlfriend and 4 month old son.

I have been doing some research on nice areas to live that have plenty to do (shops, gyms, parks, beaches, restaurants etc), have a reasonable level of British in the community and are situated within a nice commute to the city (20-30 mins on ferry, train or bus).

I have identified the following areas and was wondering if I am on the right track? - neutral bay, mosman, cremorne (lower north) and balmain, drummoyne (inner west).

I will be looking at renting a 2 bedroom apartment/flat so when you first start out are you required to pay the bond as well as a month's rent up front, this will help with budgeting etc.

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks, ferrit
Old Jul 11th 2012, 9:22 am
BE Forum Addict

NickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Where should I live in Sydney??

They're all perfectly nice suburbs. Bit of aircraft noise around Drummoyne as it's closer to the main flight path. None will be cheap but you get what you pay for.