Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

What is normal when looking for work?

What is normal when looking for work?

Old Jan 4th 2008, 8:23 pm
Just Joined

pjb_1973 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default What is normal when looking for work?

I am leaving for Brisbane end of April with my wife and 2 kids on a residency. I am an IT consultant (SAP ABAP Technical, 11 years) and have started the task of looking for work.

I have looked at the usual web sites and there seems to be some work (bad time of the year I know) but if I contact any of the agents advertising they never seem to get back to me.

I am looking for contract work so don't expect to receive any offers until I am in the country ready to start but I am getting a bit paranoid with the lack of feedback. Is this normal, the typical Oz laid back way of life, or do you think they wont even start replying until I am in the country?

Any advise or reassurance would be very much appreciated.
Old Jan 4th 2008, 8:31 pm
Banned

Major Edmund Lockyer has a brilliant futureMajor Edmund Lockyer has a brilliant futureMajor Edmund Lockyer has a brilliant futureMajor Edmund Lockyer has a brilliant futureMajor Edmund Lockyer has a brilliant futureMajor Edmund Lockyer has a brilliant future
Default Re: What is normal when looking for work?

My biggest piece of ADVICE IS USE TELEPHONE.

get the names and numbers of decision makers, and call them direct, the middle men dont wont to know, recruit consultants are useless unless you are very near a start date and actually there....then they do a shite job oin negotiation. for example is relocation included, remember a recruitment consultant can be paid many thousands of dallars if you worth your salt a company will pay you this for relocation...

just my experience and it works

Originally Posted by pjb_1973 View Post