Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

what appliances work???

what appliances work???

Old Jan 4th 2008, 4:12 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
bugginmad2005 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default what appliances work???

Hey, i am moving to oz and want to ship my household items over to, will my uk products work in oz with a plug adaptor or is it totally different???? i have a hoover washine machine tv and a few tools etc!!! any help appreciated!!
bugginmad2005 is offline  
Old Jan 4th 2008, 4:17 pm
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: In the hilly bit around Perth WA :)
Posts: 814
Phoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: what appliances work???

I haven't found anything that don't work yet and we bought everything.

Bring UK trailing leads for items that can't be changed over, like computer transformers fro speakers etc.
All other items you can change the plugs over for.
You may need a set top box to get tele working but they all vary.

2 of ours work without but the newest one needed a box.
Phoenix is offline  
Old Jan 4th 2008, 4:32 pm
  #3  
 
newjersey's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,514
newjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: what appliances work???

Originally Posted by Phoenix View Post
I haven't found anything that don't work yet and we bought everything.

Bring UK trailing leads for items that can't be changed over, like computer transformers fro speakers etc.
All other items you can change the plugs over for.
You may need a set top box to get tele working but they all vary.

2 of ours work without but the newest one needed a box.
Hint - take a a few 4-plug extension cords with you, saves a lot on changing plugs over and the UK-Aus conversion plugs. Make sure they are properly fused, or you risk setting your house on fire!
NJ
newjersey is offline  
Old Jan 4th 2008, 4:42 pm
  #4  
 
newjersey's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,514
newjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond reputenewjersey has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: what appliances work???

On a 2nd thought - TV cable/satellite boxes would almost certainly work - most TVs are fairly universal these days, but aerial may not be compatible. DVD players may be a pain in the arse due to region coding - that is if you did not get a region free (ahem) patch Conversely, European DVDs may not play in the Ozzie players if these were not region-free'd.
newjersey is offline  
Old Jan 4th 2008, 4:51 pm
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: In the hilly bit around Perth WA :)
Posts: 814
Phoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to beholdPhoenix is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: what appliances work???

I find its best to bring a uk dvd player if you are bringing any of your dvd collection with you or may be sent uk ones as gifts.
We also have an aussie one to play rentals or new ones purchased here.
Phoenix is offline  
Old Jan 14th 2008, 2:53 pm
  #6  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
bugginmad2005 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: what appliances work???

awesome thanx for the advice guys!!!
bugginmad2005 is offline  
Old Jan 14th 2008, 5:21 pm
  #7  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 48
nickyblonde is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: what appliances work???

Has anyone taken telephones (as in house phone, not mobile) over and do they work ? I'm assuming that its the same connection in OZ as in the UK, but just want to make sure before shipping then to the other side of the world.

Thanks
Nicky
nickyblonde is offline  
Old Jan 14th 2008, 7:12 pm
  #8  
Forum Regular
 
Graff's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Tamworth U.K.- Brisbane Very Soon Now Visa Granted!!
Posts: 73
Graff will become famous soon enough
Default Re: what appliances work???

Here is a great site I managed to find via a google search, answers many questions. http://www.movingdownunder.co.uk/files/faq.php
Graff is offline  
Old Jan 15th 2008, 12:26 am
  #9  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,376
hoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond reputehoofie2002 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: what appliances work???

Originally Posted by newjersey View Post
On a 2nd thought - TV cable/satellite boxes would almost certainly work - most TVs are fairly universal these days, but aerial may not be compatible. DVD players may be a pain in the arse due to region coding - that is if you did not get a region free (ahem) patch Conversely, European DVDs may not play in the Ozzie players if these were not region-free'd.
UK cable/satellite tv boxes will not work in Australia. Modern TV's will work [just retune them and change the sound setting - B/G I think ?]. Older TV's may need a cheap set-top box as the TV won't be able to decode the sound without one. The aerial sockets are the same though.
hoofie2002 is offline  
Old Feb 10th 2008, 9:34 pm
  #10  
BE Enthusiast
 
tartankoala's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Balgowlah, NSW
Posts: 664
tartankoala has a reputation beyond reputetartankoala has a reputation beyond reputetartankoala has a reputation beyond reputetartankoala has a reputation beyond reputetartankoala has a reputation beyond reputetartankoala has a reputation beyond reputetartankoala has a reputation beyond reputetartankoala has a reputation beyond reputetartankoala has a reputation beyond reputetartankoala has a reputation beyond reputetartankoala has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: what appliances work???

Originally Posted by nickyblonde View Post
Has anyone taken telephones (as in house phone, not mobile) over and do they work ? I'm assuming that its the same connection in OZ as in the UK, but just want to make sure before shipping then to the other side of the world.

Thanks
Nicky
Aye was just wondering that myself?
tartankoala is offline  
Old Feb 11th 2008, 12:16 am
  #11  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Somers;Mornington Peninsula
Posts: 241
farrierswife has much to be proud offarrierswife has much to be proud offarrierswife has much to be proud offarrierswife has much to be proud offarrierswife has much to be proud offarrierswife has much to be proud offarrierswife has much to be proud offarrierswife has much to be proud offarrierswife has much to be proud offarrierswife has much to be proud offarrierswife has much to be proud of
Default Re: what appliances work???

Originally Posted by nickyblonde View Post
Has anyone taken telephones (as in house phone, not mobile) over and do they work ? I'm assuming that its the same connection in OZ as in the UK, but just want to make sure before shipping then to the other side of the world.

Thanks
Nicky
we just bought a new cable for ours and it works fine, they have the real small plug bits here like you have on the pc.
farrierswife is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.