Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

UK bank account that can be accessed from Oz daily?

UK bank account that can be accessed from Oz daily?

Old Jul 13th 2009, 9:08 am
nya
Forum Regular

nya is an unknown quantity at this point
Question UK bank account that can be accessed from Oz daily?

Good morning,

We are going to move to Adelaide early next year but I can't seem to find an answers to a fairly urgent problem: I work as a freelancer, mainly with European clients, and I will keep my UK bank account going, as clients will prefer to pay me into a European account (no charges). Now the trouble is that I need to get all my money (income) from my UK account into my Australian account on at least a weekly basis.

No UK bank seems to have an online banknig facility where you can make international translations to Oz, and when I asked in my branch they said I would have to come into my UK branch in person for each transfer, which for obviuos reasons is impossible. So my dilemma is: I need to access my UK ban kaccount from Oz weekly and transfer money from it to my Australian account on a weekly basis (if the charges are very high then monthly).

Can anyone recommend a solution, or are there any bank accounts out there where you can have a Sterling and AUD account and acces them both from Oz, preferably online without having to go into a branch each time?

Many thanks in advance for any help!
Old Jul 13th 2009, 9:12 am
Just Joined

tomgreen is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK bank account that can be accessed from Oz daily?

When I had this problem, I used PayPal to transfer money between accounts. It'll incur less cahrges than BACS transfers and doesn't require you to visit the banks in person.

Tom
Old Jul 13th 2009, 9:26 am
BE Enthusiast