Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Telephone Interview Advice

Telephone Interview Advice

Old Dec 3rd 2006, 9:39 pm
Forum Regular

Location: North East - planning to move to Southern Queensland
BillandAbby has much to be proud ofBillandAbby has much to be proud ofBillandAbby has much to be proud ofBillandAbby has much to be proud ofBillandAbby has much to be proud ofBillandAbby has much to be proud ofBillandAbby has much to be proud ofBillandAbby has much to be proud ofBillandAbby has much to be proud ofBillandAbby has much to be proud ofBillandAbby has much to be proud of
Default Telephone Interview Advice

Just heard that I have a job interview next week over the telephone. I've never done one before and am really worried about trying to pick up on signals to stop talking/say more/clarify answers etc. You just get so much information by being face to face with the person asking the questions. Oh and it's at 6am which won't help.

The job is for a Lectureship at a University - and I really want to get it.

Any advice or tips for telephone interviewing would be gratefully received.
Old Dec 3rd 2006, 11:08 pm
Canuck/Aussie

comet555 is a glorious beacon of lightcomet555 is a glorious beacon of lightcomet555 is a glorious beacon of lightcomet555 is a glorious beacon of lightcomet555 is a glorious beacon of lightcomet555 is a glorious beacon of lightcomet555 is a glorious beacon of lightcomet555 is a glorious beacon of lightcomet555 is a glorious beacon of lightcomet555 is a glorious beacon of lightcomet555 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Telephone Interview Advice

All the usual interview advice still applies with the phone interview. But here are a few things you could do to help.

1. Wear something really comfortable as they won't see you anyway. I wore my pajamas and was laying in bed, I was very relaxed (and got the job).