teaching in australia

teaching in australia

Old Oct 24th 2002, 10:45 pm
Forum Regular

sunny_samantha is on a distinguished road
Default teaching in australia

hi
any input on this would be really appreciated
My husband and i are about to start the whole process of applying for visas (skilled independent). I currently work as a primary teacher and have no intention of changing career unless i have to. i've spent years becoming more and more disillusioned with the whole system of test, test, test combined with poorer pay and even greater lack of respect/status in the uk regardless of results achieved by the children i teach. i've looked at a few job sites and the emphasis in australia (particularly adelaide where we intend to settle, although this changes by the minute!!!!) seems to be on a christian school with a christian upbringing...is this indeed the case as i have never worked in a church orientated school before and wish to prepare myself for this if i have to!
as i said Adelaide is only an idea at the moment...we wished perth last week! but we know we have a lot of time to decide!
Good Luck to you all
Thanks for any help/advice
Susan and Rod
Old Oct 25th 2002, 4:09 am
Banned

pommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond repute

You are right in somethings you say best schools here are church run but all are private have fees about $2600 per year per child ,state schools just as good/ poor as UK in fact most kids who come from UK are a year a head of local kids.